Rt 5 Vernon, NY
Back to 2012 News
When the Modified green flag took the green flag, outside pole sitter Casey Williams would take the early lead with Jason Rood giving chase.  A lap three caution would slow the pace on the ultra fast track, and the restart saw Rood take over the point.  Ninth place starter Larry Wight was on the move early, as he took the runner up spot on lap seven and quickly closed the gap on the leader Rood.  With 10 laps complete, Rood still held the point with Wight closing in followed by Ronnie Johnson, Jimmie Davis, and Williams chasing.

Lap 12 is when Wight would make the pass for the lead on Rood, and once he took control, Wight was dominant out front.  The real battle was be for the rest of the top five between Rood, Johnson, Davis, and Williams as they swapped positions lap after lap.  With 10 laps to go it was Wight setting a quick pace up front with Rood, Davis, Johnson, and Ryan Phelps rounding out the top five. 

On lap 23, Johnson would make a bold charge from fourth to second as he split both Rood and Davis to grab the runner up position but at this point, Wight was long gone.  A lap 29 caution would give the field a chance to catch their breath on the super tacky surface and a chance to wrestle the win away from the young leader Wight.  When the green flag flew, Wight proved to be too strong as he ran off to score his first career win over Johnson, Davis, Phelps, and Matt Sheppard.  Todd Burley, Williams, Stewart Friesen, Rood, and Danny Varin rounded out the top ten.

Bobby Heintz led the opening five laps of the Sportsman feature from the pole starting spot with Chris Mackey, from eighth, charged by to lead lap six.  Rain halted the event for nearly two hours and when action resumed, Mackey again took control of the field.  Ninth place starter Jeremy Vunk ran down Mackey to take the lead by the halfway point.  From that point on, it was all Vunk as he dominated the remainder of the feature to score the win.  Matt Janczuk, Claude Hutchings, Jr., AJ Filbeck, and Chris Mackey rounded out the top five positions.

Bret Belden took control of the 20 lap Pro Stock from his fourth starting spot from the start and quickly began to pull away, leaving the rest of the field to battle for positions among themselves.  12th place starter Pete Stefanski completed a pass of second place runner Bill Knapp and would set off after the leader Belden.  With five to go, lapped traffic came into play and allowed Stefanski to close the gap and by lap 16, Stefanski took over the top spot and would run to his third consecutive win.  Belden would settle for second with Tom Denton, Knapp, and Chris Carr trailing.

Nathan Peckham easily passed the most cars in the Pure Stock main event as he started 21st on the grid when the green flag flew to begin the 15 lap feature and by lap four he was battling for the lead with Frank Hyatt and Bill Mason when he spun and drawing the caution.  Starting in the back again, Peckham started his charge through the field and by lap 11 he was again challenging for the lead.  This time, Peckham completed the pass of Hyatt on lap 12 and would race off to his first career Pure Stock at the speedway.

Next week at “The Action Track of the East” is a fan favorite as the headlining Modified division will compete in Twin 20 lap feature events plus a regular show for the Sportsman, Pro Stocks, and Pure Stocks.  Express Systems Integration and Bill Herrig will present the night’s action which starts at 6 p.m. with gates opening at 3:30 p.m. 


MODIFIED FEATURE FINISH (30 LAPS- LARRY WIGHT, Ronnie Johnson, Jimmy Davis, Ryan Phelps, Matt Sheppard, Todd Burley, Casey Williams, Stewart Friesen, Jason Rood, Danny Varin, Pat Ward, Alan Johnson, Steve Hulsizer, Alan Barker, Shannon Whaley, Bobby Varin, Mike Mahaney, Chris Busta, Adam Roberts, Jeff Rockefeller, Phil Burkart Jr., Aaron Jacobs, Dave Moyer, Tye-Scott Rood, Todd Thomas, Joe Slawiak, and Billy Trexler Jr. DNS- Dan Humes.

SPORTSMAN FEATURE FINISH (20 LAPS)- JEREMY VUNK, Matt Janczuk, Claude Hutchings Jr., A.J. Filbeck, Chris Mackey, Heath Carney, Bobby Heintz, Jim Nagle, Randy Shantel, Mike Stiles, Rocky Warner, Jeff Leslie, Brian Thomas, Stephen Denton, Robert Barker, Jack Miller, Toby Klish, Chris McCoy, Tim Nye, C.J. Castelletti, Steve Way, and Craig Pope.

PRO STOCK FEATURE FINISH (20 LAPS)- PETE STEFANSKI, Bret Belden, Tom Denton, Bill Knapp, Chris Carr, Jim Normoyle, Glenn Forward, Jeff Pastorella, Shawn Frost, Ed Ostrander, Dwight Johnson, Jim Money, Dan Lashure, Gus Hollner, Corie Locke, Dana Camenga, Brent Tardy, Andy Lashure, and Mark Effner.

PURE STOCK FEATURE FINISH (15 LAPS)-NATHAN PECKHAM, Frank Hyatt, Ron Hawker, Rob Thieme, Chris Cunningham, Bill Mason, Tim Janczuk, Phil Norman, Andy Szewczyk, Mark Chrzanowski, Ricky Breed, Bryan Owens, Jim Thomas, Keith Stevenson, Brandon Greene, Chris Watkins, Russ Marsden, Mike Kazlauskas, Dave Bruno, and Scott Wheelock.  DNS-Yule Cook and Scott Springer.
Aug. 12th -
VERNON, NY- Despite a two hour rain delay, Utica-Rome Speedway was able to complete the event this past Sunday evening and with the extra moisture, it turned out to be an exciting event on a super fast surface.  Larry Wight would prevail to take the $2,000 Modified win on Dick Waterman night while Jeremy Vunk was the Sportsman victor.  Pete Stefanski would capture his third consecutive Pro Stock win while Nathan Peckham charged from the rear of the Pure Stock field twice to the win.